A New Begining

Lock down has get on my nerves. Me being a homeschooler became pretty bored during the first couple of months sitting at home playing video games, I mean honestly, that was one thing that everychild did during the first few months in lockdown . Honestly I got pretty much bored sitting at home and planned of doing something exciting, something creative. I thought for a few days and gathered my courage and asked my mom, who herself was feed up of this lockdown. I gathered my courage and asked her if we could start a hotel at our place in Khanapur. She being aware of what i was talking about asked me if i really wanted to go into that sector and told me to give it a thought for a few more days. After pondering over that idea i finally decided to start a business of my own. I got in touch with my familly and asked them what are the pro’s and con’s of going into that certain sector. I got all my information from my mama who currently is into that business. Mom was happy that i was intrested but told me that we just couldn’t start with a hotel but could start with something smaller like a resort or a homestay. I did my research about the two and finally agreed to the homestay idea.

We travelled to the plot to see the outline of the bunglow. The drive to Khanapur was a long but an amazing one. When we arrived at our destination all we could see a was a run down bunglow as if it was cleared by the police leaving only the bunglow there. Seeing the bunglow the first thought that crossed my mind was that how are we going to turn this matchbox into a place where evryone would come and stay? Knowing that my masi was an architect, i had the hopes that this can be changed. Sending the photo my masi I to did a bit of research of how and where to place things in the house. Yes we had to do alot of changing around. We cleared the lawn upfront and renovated the whole bungalow. We made a swimming pool and got some trees to tweak the whole senario. In the end we made a bunglow with 6 rooms a hall with a dining area and an open kitchen.

We did the opening of the bunglow right after my birthday which was on the 20th of October. We started our facebook page on the name Rabira’s Nest and got our first customer on the 28th of October. It was a group of friends from Mumbai. At first i became really cold feeted but looking at my mom I became calm. At first only customers from Mumbai would come but as the days went on customers started coming from Pune. All this started coming from only facebook posts.I along with mom and the team celebrated New Years at Rabira’s Nest. By the starting of 2021 we were already a sustainable business. Customer calls were keeping us on our toes.

Four months down the line we got or first set of dogs. Realising that the area may also have snakes we adopted two healthy dogs and a pair of kittens, turns out that dogs and cats bond really well.

I became really excited about the reviews which the customers started giving. Meeting the customers gave me a new outlook to look at life and I realised that I was an entrepreneur at the age of 17. I realised how to interact with the customers and how to do better customer service. Along with the ongoing business i started classes to evaluate my personal skills by a teaching app by the name of Mastree. I have resently been attending online business meet which changes the way i look at things.

College had started by the 14th of January. By the end of January i talked with my mom of educating the children in the slums by the college and decided to partner up with mom’s ngo ODSER. I built a team of friends to help me execute my plan of educating the needy. By Febuary we were going well bust since lockdown started again we had to put that on a pause and I started putting my 100% in my business.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close